FDA role in New York food safety

Who is the FDA Food Safety Code New York

FDA, through its Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN), regulates foods other than the meat, poultry, and egg products regulated by FSIS. FDA is also responsible for the safety of drugs, medical devices, biologics, animal feed and drugs, cosmetics, and radiation emitting devices.

The Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation’s commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.

What is the purpose and role of the FDA for ensuring the safety of our food supply?

FDA Mission. The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

How many states have adopted the FDA Food Code?

Of the 66 State regulatory agencies from 50 States and the District of Columbia (DC), 64 State agencies have adopted codes patterned after the 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2009, or 2013 versions of the FDA Food Code; whereas 2 State agencies have not adopted the FDA Food Code.

Who inspects grocery stores?

The health department in your State, city, or county inspects foodservice establishments (restaurants, cafeterias and grocery stores). For answers to your questions, you will need to contact your State health department. Each State makes its own rules, often based on FDA’s retail model Food Code.


If you would like to learn more about the other food safety agencies take the Food Manager’s Safety course and certification with Westchester Food Safety located in Westchester New York-




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *